
Got Your iPhone Unavailable? Here're 3 Solutions to Fix!
If your iPhone says unavailable and you can't get into, it might be time to reset your phone to its out-of-the-box settings so you will reset the screen and forgotten passcode.
When your iPhone is on the unavailable screen:

You can get into an unavailable iPhone without passcode by resetting it to factory-default settings.
It's usually highly secure that we lock our iPhone using a screen passcode. But what if you can't remember your own passcode, or you've entered incorrect passcode so many times that your iPhone gets unavailable and won't allow you to access? If that's the issue you're having with your iPhone, no worries, you can still get into it.
Getting back into an unavailable iPhone is straightforward once you understand the recovery options available. This comprehensive guide breaks down the structural steps and methods required to bypass the lock screen, recover your access, and safely restore your personal data.
To access an unavailable iPhone, however, you'll need to erase and reset your device into factory settings. Afterward, you can restore your data from a current backup or download whatever you have in your iCloud storage.
See also: How to transfer files from iPhone to Windows 11
Before entering the actual process of how to get into unavailable iPhone screen, let's get to the bottom of why your iPhone is showing this message. When you type an incorrect passcode multiple times, your iPhone assumes a potential security breach is taking place. Here is how the lockout progression works:
If you reach the permanent lockout stage, there is no way to bypass the lock screen without wiping the device to factory settings. However, if you have an iCloud or computer backup, you can easily restore all your files, photos, and settings right after the reset.
If you finally recall the correct screen passcode, your most dependable backup solution is putting the iPhone into Recovery Mode using a physical cable connected to a Mac or Windows PC.. Hopefully, you've backed up your iPhone so you can restore your data after reset.
Required Tools:
Step 1. Put Your iPhone into Recovery Mode
First, unplug your iPhone from the computer and power it completely off. Next, press and hold the Side button (iPhone 8 and later) for your device model while immediately connecting it to your computer. Keep holding the Side button until you see the Recovery Mode screen (a cable pointing toward a computer icon):
Step 2. Open iTunes or Finder on your computer.
Step 3. Restore via computer software
A pop-up dialog box will automatically appear stating: "There is a problem with the iPhone that requires it to be updated or restored."
Click Restore. The computer will download the official firmware package and reinstall iOS onto the iPhone.

Restore the device so the iPhone Unavailable message will be erased from your lock screen.
Note:
So if you've ever used the iTunes / Finder for resetting your iPhone, but it doesn't work as expected, we also list another tool for you to access an unavailable iPhone without passcode.
Whether you see an Unavailable, Security Lockout or Disabled alert on the lock screen, it could be very easy and quick to remove it if you're using the Appgeeker iPhone Unlocker (iKnockin), which is extremely lightweight, user-friendly, and also packed with different unlocking features that you can use to erase the iPhone passcode, Apple ID, remote management profiles, and even the screen timer.
Here's how to get into the unavailable iPhone in 4 steps using your computer and a suitable USB cable.
Step 1: Launch iPhone Unlocker tool and hit Unlock iOS Screen mode.

Step 2: Connect the unavailable iPhone and put it into Recovery Mode.
Plug your iPhone into your computer using a USB cable. And follow the onscreen instructions to place your iPhone into the Restore mode if the software doesn't detect it.

Step 3: Click "Start Now" button.
Once connected, check your device information and confirm.

Let iPhone Unlocker download the appropriate iOS firmware for your locked device.

Step 4: Wipe the iPhone Unavailable screen to regain access.
When the iOS software is downloaded successfully, click the OK button. Make sure you're aware that this is to erase all your iPhone data along with the unavailable lock screen. After the confirmation, your iPhone will get reset in a few minutes.

Keep your device connected until the progress bar runs to the end. Once done, your unavailable iPhone will be unlocked and you should see the Hello screen when it restarts. You can now get into your iPhone again after finishing the setup.

See also: How to remove previous owner Apple ID without password
If you updated your passcode recently and entered the wrong numbers, Apple offers a temporary safety net introduced in iOS 17. Provided you changed your passcode within the last 72 hours, you can log in using your old passcode to regain access without having to erase your device.
1. On the lock screen, deliberately enter an incorrect passcode until the iPhone Unavailable screen appears.
2. Tap the Forgot Passcode? link in the bottom corner of the screen.
3. Tap Enter Previous Passcode.

4. Enter your old passcode that was active prior to the recent change.
5. Follow the on-screen prompts to set up a new passcode immediately.
If you do not qualify for the 72-hour grace period, you can also use "iPhone Reset" option beneath the "Enter Previous Passcode" to perform a factory reset on the device. While this will erase all your data and restore the device to its factory settings, it does guarantee you can access your iPhone without unavailable error again.
One of the benefits of this methos is it clear the lockout screen without plugging into a computer.
Prerequisites:
From the iPhone Unavailable or Security Lockout screen, tap the "Forgot Passcode?" prompt in the bottom corner.

Then you'll see this iPhone Reset screen, saying that your iPhone is unavailable or in security lockout at the moment. You can either try again several minutes later or erase and reset your phone right away.

Tap "Start iPhone Reset" to confirm the option. You'll be asked to enter the Apple ID password for your Apple account to log out, which is to make sure to sign out of Find My and disable Activation Lock. After that, the unavailable device will start wiping out everything automatically.
When it's done, your iPhone will be brought back to the setup screen. The unavailable black screen is gone. You can set up your phone as a new one and give it a new screen passcode.
See also: Missing text messages on iPhone
If your iPhone is locked out and the on-screen erase option does not appear—often due to a missing network connection or a faulty display, there's another alternative method letting you erase and reset your iPhone—you can initiate a remote wipe using another internet-connected device.
1. Open a web browser on another computer, tablet, or phone and navigate to iCloud.com/find or launch the Find My app on a secondary Apple device.
2. Sign in using the same Apple Account connected to your unavailable iPhone.
3. Select "All Devices" at the top bar and choose your locked iPhone from the list. Then a map with all your Find My enabled devices will show up on the screen.

4. Select "Erase This Device" option. And confirm it.

5. iCloud will send you a verification code for double confirmation. You can get the code from your other Apple devices which should be using the same Apple ID.
6. Enter the code and the locked iPhone will erase all the content and setting on it.
After regaining the access to your locked iPhone, you'll want to set it up again and get your personal data back. Here's how to download everything you have in your iCloud:
Once downloaded, you can now complete the setup and enjoy your iPhone. Make sure you create a new screen passcode that you won't forget again.
An "iPhone Unavailable" screen can feel like a major roadblock, but Apple's built-in recovery routines ensure you can regain access to your device safely. Whether utilizing the 72-hour passcode reset feature or deploying Recovery Mode via computer, following these structured steps guarantees your phone will be up and running smoothly again.